We only require a username and password when you signup to our service. Email can be provided if you wish to be able to recover your password in case you forget it, as well as receive periodic service updates. We use 3rd party payment processors. When you pay for a premium account, we store the transaction ID of your payment for a period of 30 days for fraud prevention purposes.
When you use Windscribe, we keep the following data associated with your account:
This data is used to enforce free tier limitations, prevent abuse and weed out inactive accounts.
The following data is NOT stored:
We are firm believer that one's browsing history should be taken to one's grave.
For the duration of your connection the following is stored in server's memory. This data is immediately discarded when you disconnect:
The following data is stored in a central location:
Anything that is not mentioned above is not stored.
The following is no longer applicable to Windscribe, as we replaced a bulk of the VPN authentication/bandwidth accounting system with a bespoke one in Q2 2018, which no longer requires us to delete anything after you disconnect, as there is nothing to delete.
Vast majority if not all of VPN providers use FreeRadius for authentication and parallel connection enforcement which MOST providers have. In default mode, the "raw data" looks like this. As you see, it shows the openvpn username, server IP connected to, when the session was started, terminated, and how much data was transferred. The column titled "callingstationid", by default, has the connected user's IP address. When we still used this system, we modified our instance to not supply this information. So to check how many parallel connections a user has, you simply look in this table and check how many records exist for a single username, with no session termination timestamp. After the user's session is terminated, the record stays in the database. Unless the provider physically removes the record via a cleanup script, it will stay there forever. Providers that keep logs, store this data for 30 or more days, and then remove it... allegedly.
Our bespoke system eliminates the need for this session table entirely. This data resides only in server's memory while you're connected, and is immediately discarded by the VPN server when you disconnect. Since it doesn't get logged into a permanent database, there is nothing to delete.
If for some strange reason you decide not to use our service anymore, the only piece of information that will remain is your username, password and email address (if you provided it). We periodically prune inactive accounts. You can delete your account at any time in the "My Account" section.
Since we store the bare minimum for a customer to actually use our service, any request for user data would yield nothing of value. As we do not store any historical logs on who used which IP address, and since IPs are shared by dozens/hundreds of people at any given moment, so we cannot tie any activity to a specific account.
ونحن سوف نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتجنب أي تغييرات، التي تشمل تحرك الشركة إلى ولاية قضائية مختلفة. إذا تم إجراء تغييرات سياسة جذرية بسبب جنس من العناكب العملاقة لاستعباد البشرية جميعها لتجبرنا على وضع مستخدمينا تحت تهديد الاستهلاك، ونحن لا نستطيع الاستمرار في تقديم الخدمة وفقا لأحكام المذكورة أعلاه. وسيتم إخطار المستخدمين (ذوى حسابات بريد صالحة). وسيكون ذلك أقل من الاهتمام الخاص بك ولكن، كما تعلمون، بسبب العناكب العملاقة.